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Courage Responsibility Ethics Dedication - CREDibly serving the public safety of New Mexico 
ISSUE DATE:            02/27/84   REVIEW/REVISED:  10/28/14 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  02/29/84 

TITLE:   Per Diem and Mileage   

 
AUTHORITY: 
 

NMSA 1978, Sections 10-8-1 to -8, as amended 
 
REFERENCES: 
 

A. Department of Finance and Administration (DFA) Rule 2.42.2 NMAC, Mileage and Per Diem 
Act; and Manual of Model Accounting Practices (MAP). 

B. General Services Department (GSD) Policy No. 350-05.021, "Out-of-State Travel Request". 
C. ACA Standard 4-4066, Standards for Adult Correctional Institutions, 4th Edition. 
D. ACA Standard 4-APPFS-3A-20, 4-APPFS-3D-22, and 4-APPFS-3E-12, Standards for Adult 

Probation and Parole Field Services, 4th Edition. 
E. ACA Standards 1-CTA-1C-10, Standards for Correctional Training Academies, 1993. 

 
PURPOSES: 
 

A. To establish guidelines for New Mexico Corrections Department  employees, board/panel and 
commission members to follow when making claim for intra-state or out-of-state travel 
reimbursement. 

 
B. To establish guidelines for payment of travel reimbursement. 

 
APPLICABILITY: 

 
All New Mexico Corrections Department employees and to Corrections Department boards/panels 
and commissions. 

 
FORMS: 
 

Travel Request form (CD-024701.1) 
 
ATTACHMENTS: 
 

Instructions for the Travel Request form Attachment (CD-024701.A) (2 pages)   
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DEFINITIONS: 
 

A. DFA Determinations:  Determination made by DFA per Section 6-5-6, NMSA 1978, as 
amended requires the New Mexico Department of Finance and Administration’s Financial 
Control Division (FCD) to determine that all expenditures are for a purpose authorized by law.  
White Paper – Authority and Propriety of Expenditures. 

 
B. DFA Rate Scale:  Current rates being reimbursed by DFA at the time travel occurs. 
 
C. Employee: Any person who is employed by the New Mexico Corrections Department and 

whose salary is paid either completely or in part from public funds. 
 
D. Governmental Entity:  A state agency. 
 
E. Non-Salaried Public Officer: A public officer serving in a non-salaried office or as a member 

of a board, advisory boards/panels or commissions appointed by: 
 

1. The executive, judicial or legislative branches of state government or 
 
2. The governing authority of a local public body. 

 
F. Out-of-State Travel:  Travel beyond the exterior boundaries of the State of New Mexico. Out-

of-state travel must be mission critical and requires the Secretary's written approval. The 
Secretary may delegate this authority by written directive. For purposes of a flight to El Paso, 
Texas to reach the destination of Las Cruces will be considered in-state travel. 

 
G. Program Activity Supervisor: For approval purposes, the Program Activity Supervisor shall 

be, in the case of a division, the Division Director; in the case of an institution, the Warden; in 
the case of Probation/Parole field offices, the Region Manager. 

 
H. Travel For Per Diem Purposes (but not mileage purposes): Travel of at least 35 miles away 

from home and at least 35 miles away from the designated post of duty of the public officer or 
employee; provided, however, that non-salaried public officials will be eligible for per diem 
for attending meetings in accordance with DFA Rule 2.42.2 NMAC. 

 
I. Travel Time: The amount of time away from home and principal place of employment. Travel 

time shall not include the amount of travel time out-of-state by private car or vehicle 
exceeding the travel time, which would have been required to travel by commercial airline to 
the out-of-state destination unless: 

 
1. The out-of-state destination is a contiguous state with this state; or 
 
2. The car or vehicle is necessary for the official purpose of the traveler. 
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POLICY:  
 

A. The Corrections Department will pay expenses for employee travel outside of his/her principal 
town of employment or outside of New Mexico when such travel is authorized by the 
employee's supervisor, will provide benefits to the Department and when resources are 
available to apply toward such expenses. Benefits to the Department may include, but are not 
necessarily limited to: [4-APPFS-3A-20] 

 
1. The exchange of information with, or acquisition of information from, federal or other 

state officials, professional organizations, or other individuals or groups, with respect to 
laws, programs, professional standards, organizational structures, management systems, 
administrative practices, technology, or other areas which are, or could be, applicable to 
the Department, and whose application could result in increased or improved services or 
efficiency of operations; 

 
2. Training-related courses or seminars designed to improve or enhance employee skills in a 

specific area of knowledge or skills intended to improve the operation of the Department. 
 

B. The Corrections Department may direct the reimbursement method of an employee authorized 
to travel.  The reimbursement methods available are (1) per diem: (2) actual reimbursement for 
meals and lodging based on receipts: or (3) direct payment of lodging (hotel or Training 
Academy) and actual reimbursement for meals. 

 
C. Further, the Corrections Department may reimburse employees using their private vehicles for 

in-town travel while performing duties on behalf of the Department. Reimbursement shall be 
in the form of payment for mileage rates in accordance with provisions outlined in the current 
DFA Rule for travel.  Payment of mileage must be pre-approved by the division/bureau/ 
unit/section supervisor prior to the use of personal vehicles for employment-related activities. 

 
D. The Corrections Department will pay per diem and mileage to non-salaried public officers in 

connection with attendance at board/panel and commission meetings. 
 
E. Employees shall be reimbursed for all approved expenses incurred in the performance of their 

duties. [4-4066] [4-APPFS-3D-22] [4-APPFS-3E-12] [1-CTA-1C-10] 
 
     
  

     
___________________________________________                   10/28/14  
Gregg Marcantel, Secretary of Corrections                                Date 
New Mexico Corrections Department 
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ISSUE DATE:            02/27/84   REVIEW/REVISED:  10/28/14 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  02/29/84 

TITLE:     Per Diem and Mileage 

 
AUTHORITY: 
 

Policy CD-024700 
 
PROCEDURES: [4-4066] [4-APPFS-3A-20] [4-APPFS-3D-22] [4-APPFS-3E-12] [1-CTA-1C-10] 
 

A. General Information/Per Diem: 
 

1. Reimbursement rates for all travel expenses will follow regulations set forth in the current 
DFA Rule. 

 
2. Unless partial-day travel is occasional and irregular, as described in 2.42.2 NMAC, no 

partial day per diem will be paid. Business Managers are responsible for determining 
whether prorated per diem can be paid under this section of the DFA Rule. 

 
3. Based on a DFA determination on the amount of gratuity allowable, the FCD will not 

approve an amount it believes is excessive (over 20% of reimbursable meal expenses). 
 

B. Mileage/Private Conveyance: 
 

1. Reimbursement shall be in the form of payment of mileage rates in accordance with 
provisions outlined in the current DFA Rule for travel.  Payment of mileage shall be pre-
approved by the division/bureau/unit/section supervisor prior to the use of personal 
vehicles for employment-related activities. Odometer readings must accompany the 
request for reimbursement of mileage rates where map mileage cannot be used. 

 
2. Upon approval of the Division Director or Warden, the Department may reimburse 

trainees for mileage to attend training at the Training Academy if an official state vehicle 
is not available. If the training lasts more than one day and the Training Academy 
provides lodging, the reimbursement will be limited to mileage for one round trip to and 
from the Training Academy.  Carpooling is required with up to four trainees in one 
vehicle. Any deviations from this paragraph must be authorized prior to the session 
by the Training Academy and the Warden or Division Director. 
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C. In-State Pre-Travel Approval: 

 
A Travel Request form (CD-024701.1) shall be completed within the automated travel log 
system and submitted for the approval of the appropriate division directors and business 
offices. This form shall be electronically submitted to each approval level. The approximate 
cost to the department should be indicated on the request form to determine budget 
availability. 

 
D. Out-of-State Pre-Travel Approval: 

 
1. A Travel Request form (CD-024701.1) shall be completed within the automated travel 

log system and submitted for the approval of the Division Director. This form shall be 
accompanied by an itinerary for the entire trip, copies of any printed materials containing 
information about the event to be attended (if appropriate), and a letter of justification 
showing benefits to be derived. All out-of-state trips must be mission critical and pre-
approved even if there is no cost to the Department. 

 
2. If the cost exceeds $2,500, or more than one individual is expected to attend the same 

event, or a rental car is required, or there are other unusual circumstances involved, a 
justification letter must be provided from the Division Director to the Secretary and the 
unusual circumstances must be explained and/or justified. 

 
3. All out-of-state travel requests shall be processed through the Department's 

Administrative Services Division (ASD) one month prior to the anticipated departure date 
for appropriate processing to DFA. Exemptions will be handled on an individual basis 
with the Secretary's or designee's approval. 

 
4. Travel arrangements should be made through a contracted travel agency. A designated 

travel coordinator shall be assigned for the various facilities/divisions. 
 
5. Rental cars are to be used only when there is no public transportation available or when 

circumstances prevent use of such transportation.  
 
6. ASD shall review out-of-state travel requests for budget availability. If there is 

insufficient budget to cover the travel expense, ASD will return the request to the 
originator for further action. Approved requests shall be initialed by the ASD Director 
and forwarded to the Deputy Secretary of Administration and the Secretary for formal 
approval. 

 
7. If the proposed travel cost is $1,500 or more, an Exempt Purchase Document must be 

processed through DFA for encumbrance. 
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8. When the employee chooses to drive in lieu of flying, the employee shall be reimbursed 
mileage up to the cost of the most economical airfare from a quoted ticket price of at least 
fourteen (14) days prior to departure or upon approval from the Secretary if approved at a 
later date Per Diem shall be payable as if employee had flown.  There shall be no 
additional per diem allowed for driving. 

   
9. Travel to El Paso, Texas for the purpose of visiting the Southern New Mexico 

Correctional Facility or the Probation and Parole Field Office in Las Cruces shall be 
treated as in-state travel. 

 
E. Aggregate Travel Costs in Excess of $1,500 

 
1. When an employee exceeds $1,500 in travel expenditures in a calendar year, they shall 

not be entitled to further travel reimbursements until the Secretary approves an itemized 
statement on each separate instance of travel covered within the reimbursement, the place 
to which the employee is traveling and the executive purpose served by the travel.  If the 
traveler is the Secretary, commission or board member, the itemized travel reimbursement 
shall be approved by the governor’s office. 

 
F. Advance Travel and Per Diem: 

 
1. An employee may request advance per diem and mileage for up to 80% of the estimated 

travel expenses. The Secretary or an authorized designee must approve travel advances. If 
approved, the Business Manager shall prepare the appropriate paper work that meets the 
requirements of DFA Rules and ASD/FMB Processing Procedures.  

 
2. To be eligible for advance travel expenses, the 80% shall exceed $425 or should be for 

more than five days away time. 
 
3. It is the responsibility of the Business Manager or Program Director to ensure 

accountability requirements of the DFA Rule are met. 
 

G. Travel Reimbursement 
 

1. The employee shall complete an Itemized Schedule of Travel Expenses (CD-024701.2) 
within the automated travel log system along with any other supporting documents such 
as receipts to support requests for reimbursement of actual costs. The supporting 
documents shall be submitted to the business office or staff in charge of processing the 
Itemized Schedule of Travel Expenses (ISTE) within three (3) days after returning from 
travel.  The employee shall review the completed ISTE form for accuracy.  If accurate, 
the employee shall sign the ISTE form, preferably in blue ink. 
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2. The Exempt Purchase Document, Itemized Schedule of Travel Expenses, and receipts, 

when applicable, constitute a complete per diem and mileage reimbursement payment 
packet.  The Business Manager shall submit the payment packet to ASD/FMB. The 
ASD/FMB shall pre-audit the payment packet pursuant to the DFA Rule and ASD/FMB 
Processing Procedures. A payment voucher will be generated and submitted to DFA/FMB 

 
 The Itemized Schedule of Travel Expenses shall reflect any reductions set forth by the 

Deputy Secretaries or Secretary under "Out-of-State Pre-Travel Approval" CD-024701, 
Paragraph D. A short explanation shall be given on the schedule. 

 
3. For travel where lodging costs have been paid for by someone other than the employee 

(including lodging at the Corrections Training Academy), the maximum amount of 
reimbursement must be in compliance with DFA rules. Receipts must be retained and 
attached as supporting documents for meals. 

 
4. For travel costs where the employee is using actual expenses rather than approved per 

diem rates, receipts must be retained and attached as supporting documents for 
reimbursement. 

 
a. Gratuities must be indicated on the receipt and may not exceed 20% of the 

reimbursable expense. 
 
5. For travel where lodging costs have been paid directly to the hotel by the Department 

(direct billing), payment to the hotel cannot be made until all itemized schedule of travel 
expenses of each traveler has been submitted to ASD/FMB. In no event shall the traveler 
charge room service to the hotel when using the direct bill method. All expenses other 
than lodging are the responsibility of the traveler, including but not limited to, telephone 
charges. 

 
H. Board/Panel and Commission Members: 

 
1. Board/panel and commission members shall be paid per diem in accordance with DFA 

Rules, where the board/panel or commission member may elect to receive per diem for 
attending each board/panel or commission meeting at the approved rate per meeting 
calendar day; or per diem in accordance with the per diem rates specified in DFA Rule for 
travel by public officers or employees. Official board/panel or commission meetings are 
those that are held under the requirements of the Open Meetings Act. 

 
2. The board/panel or commission member shall claim per diem, mileage, and 

reimbursement for other expenses by filing an itemized schedule of travel expenses 
containing the information required by DFA Rules.  For purposes of computing per diem, 
board/panel and commission members should elect whichever rate or combination of 
rates provide the closest approximation to actual expenses. 
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I. Employee Responsibilities: 
 

1. An employee who has been approved for advance travel and per diem or travel 
reimbursement is strictly required to attend all meetings, training-related courses, 
seminars, etc. (i.e. travel event(s)) for which the travel has been approved.  Employees 
who fail to attend all travel events shall be subject to disciplinary action, up to and 
including dismissal, and may be required to reimburse the Department all costs associated 
with sending the employee to the travel event(s). In the event that an employee does not 
travel and the pre-travel form was approved, it is the employee’s responsibility to ensure 
the travel request in the automated travel log system is closed. 

 
 

 
 
___________________________________________                    10/28/14  
Gregg Marcantel, Secretary of Corrections                                Date 
New Mexico Corrections Department 



Form CD-024701.1 
Revised 10/28/14 

    New Mexico Corrections Department   In-State  
  Travel Request Form     Out-of-State  

      Date:    
     Organization Name:    
          

Traveler:     Departure Date:    
Destination:     Return Date:    

          
        AMOUNT  

1. Airline or Other Fares …… ……………………………………………………….   $                               -     
2. Mileage: 0 Miles @ $0.41 Per Mile …………………………                                    -     
3. Miscellaneous Expenses (Parking, Tolls, Etc.) ……………….. ………………….                                    -     
4. Other Mileage & Fares (Specify i.e.: Taxis, Airport transportation, etc.)    

                                          -     
5. Rental Car  Days @  Per day including Taxes.                                    -     
6. Per Diem*  Nights @  Per Night………………                                    -     
6a. Partial Day Per Diem:      Number of Hours  …………………………                                    -     
7. Meals *  Days @  $   30.00  (Maximum) Per Day ………                                   -     
8. Lodging*  Nights @  Per Night Plus Taxes……..                                   -     
          
 Subtotal Lines 1 through 8       $                               -     

9. Tuition Fees or Dues ……… ……………………………………………………….                                    -     

          
 Total        $                               -     
          

Purpose of Trip:         
          
* Travel is based on Per Diem (Approved Rates) or Actual Meals & Lodging - Do NOT Enter Amounts for Both.  
     Business Manager Approval:  
     Date:     

          
  Division Director       Approved:  
         Warden Signature:  Date:   Disapproved:  
        Approved:  

  **Budget Bureau 
Signature: 

 Date:   Disapproved:  

        Approved:  

  **ASD Director 
Signature: 

 Date:   Disapproved:  

        Approved:  

  **Deputy 
Secretary 

Signature: 

 Date:   Disapproved:  

        Approved:  
  **†Secretary 

Signature: 
 Date:   Disapproved:  

**  Required for all Out-of-State Travel per CD-024701 
† Required for travel advances per CD-024701 

 Submit Original form with Reimbursement Request: Copy needs to be submitted to respective Deputy Secretary 
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NEW MEXICO CORRECTIONS DEPARTMENT 
INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE TRAVEL REQUEST FORM 

  

         
► In-State Travel must be approved by the Business Manager and the Division Director / Warden only. Division 

Directors and Wardens need to have their travel approved by their supervisor and cannot approve their own 
travel. 

         
► All Out-of-State Travel must be approved by the Business Manager, Division Director / Warden, Budget 

Bureau, ASD Director, Deputy Secretary of Operations for respective bureaus, Deputy Secretary of 
Administration and the Secretary. 

         
► In order to request travel advance - amount advance must be at least $425.00 or a minimum of a five (5) night 

stay 
         
► Itemized schedule and all receipts must be submitted to receive payment. 

► See Corrections Department Policy CD-024700 for additional information relating to travel. 
         

1. Enter cost for Airline fare (if any).      
         

2. Mileage is allowed when using personal vehicles @ $0.41 per mile. Map mileage should be entered. If map mileage is 
not available then tracking of beginning and ending odometer mileage must be kept and submitted. 

          
3. Enter amounts (if any) for parking, toll fees, or other miscellaneous expenses. MUST KEEP RECEIPTS TO BE 

REIMBURSED FOR THESE COSTS. 
          

4. Enter amounts (if any) for other Mileage & Fares including airport transportation, taxis, or other transportation costs. 
MUST KEEP RECEIPTS TO BE REIMBURSED FOR THESE COSTS. 

          
5. Enter cost per day for rental car including any taxes. MUST KEEP RECEIPTS TO BE REIMBURSED FOR 

THESE COSTS. 
          

6. Calculate amount of Per Diem for trip. (Reimbursement is based on either Approved Rates (Per Diem) or Actual 
amounts.) ENTER AMOUNTS FOR LINE 6 OR ENTER AMOUNTS FOR LINES 7 AND 8. Enter any partial 
day Per Diem on Line 6a. 

 In-State Travel        
 Overnight - $85.00 / Night  Special Area (Santa Fe ONLY) - $135.00 / Night  
 Out-of-State Travel        
 Overnight - $115.00 / Night        
 Partial Day Per Diem (Enter amount on Line 6a)      
 For less than 2 hours: None        
 For more than 2 hours but less than 6 hours: $12.00      

 For more than 6 hours but less than 12 hours: $20.00      
 For 12 hours or more: $30.00    
 Partial day is calculated from the departure time to the return time less nine hours (one hour lunch) for the same 
day travel or from the departure time to the return time less hours in 24 hour increments for overnight travel. 

 Example
: 

SAME DAY TRAVEL: Leave at 4:00 am return at 9:00 pm    

  17 hours less 9 hours = 8 hours: $20.00 per diem for the day    
          

  OVERNIGHT TRAVEL:  Leave Monday at 1:00 pm, return Wednesday at 9:00 pm  
  56 hours less 48 hours = 8 hours: $20.00 per diem for the partial day    
      
  SAME DAY TRAVEL: Leave at 9:00 am return at 7:00 pm    
  10 hours less 9 hour (work day) = 1 hour: $0.00 per diem for the day    
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NEW MEXICO CORRECTIONS DEPARTMENT 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE TRAVEL REQUEST FORM 
          

7. If NOT traveling on Per Diem - enter amounts for Meals and Lodging. Maximum amount allowed per day for meals is 
$30.00 - MUST KEEP RECEIPTS TO BE REIMBURSED FOR THE COST OF MEALS - ALCOHOL IS NOT 
REIMBURSABLE. 

          
8. Enter the amount for lodging per night including all taxes. Lodging costs in excess of $215/night must be approved by 

Department Secretary. MUST KEEP RECEIPT TO BE REIMBURSED FOR THE COST OF LODGING. 

          
9. Enter the amount for any tuition or conference fees (if any).     
          

NOTE:   ITEMS WITHOUT RECEIPTS CANNOT BE REIMBURSED AND WILL NOT BE REIMBURSED WITH 
AN AFFIDAVIT.   IF RECEIPTS ARE LOST - REIMBURSEMENT WILL BE BASED ON APPROVED (PER 
DIEM) RATES. 
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