
 
 
 
 

 CD-032300 

 
Courage Responsibility Ethics Dedication - CREDibly serving the public safety of New Mexico 

ISSUE DATE:            10/30/85   REVIEW/REVISED:  02/24/15 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  11/13/85 

TITLE:   Workers’ Compensation and Early Return to Work 

 
 
AUTHORITY: 
 

A.   Americans with Disabilities Act. 
B.    The Family and Medical Leave Act. 
C. Chapter 52, Workers’ Compensation, NMSA, 1978, as amended. 
D. State Personnel Board Rule NMAC 1.7.10.13 
E. General Services Division Rule 91-703 

 
REFERENCE: 
 

A. ACA Standard 2-CO-1C-05, Standards for the Administration of Correctional Agencies, 
2nd Edition. 

B. ACA Standards 4-4048, 4-4062, Standards for Adult Correctional Institutions, 4th 
Edition. 

C. ACA Standards 4-APPFS-3D-26, Standards for Adult Probation and Parole Field 
Services, 4th Edition. 

D. ACA Standard 2-CI-1A-6, Standards for Correctional Industries, 2nd Edition. 
E. Governor's Executive Order No. 91-27 

 
PURPOSE: 
 

To provide specific guidelines for handling Workers’ Compensation claims and the Early 
Return to Work Program and to ensure each work site has an accident reporting system.      
[4-APPFS-3D-26]   [2-CI-1A-6]   

 
APPLICABILITY: 
 

All employees of the New Mexico Corrections Department (NMCD). 
 
FORMS: 
 

A. Release to Full Duty form (CD-032301.1) 
B. Doctor Visit/ Modified Work Assignment (Work Related) form (CD-032301.2) 
C. Doctor Visit/ Modified Work Assignment (Non-Work Related) form (CD-032301.3) 
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ATTACHMENTS: 
 

None 
 
DEFINITIONS: 
 

A. American with Disabilities Act (ADA): Federal Legislation signed into law July 26, 
1990.  It is an anti-discrimination statute which requires that qualified persons with 
disabilities be given the same consideration for employment as individuals without 
disabilities. 

 
B. Appointing Authority: The level of authority within the NMCD that can authorize hire. 
 
C. AWOL:  Absent Without Official Leave. 
 
D. Early Return to Work Program (ERTW):  Modifications to duties in accordance with 

State Personnel Board Rule 1 NMAC 7.10.13. Early Return to Work assignments 
includes "Modified Duty Assignments" and "Temporary Duty Assignments" as defined 
in the policy. Such assignments may last for up to six (6) months, which may be 
extended with permission of the State Personnel Director for an additional six (6) 
months. 
 

E. Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA): This act provides up to 12 weeks of unpaid, 
job-protected leave for eligible employees to tend to their own or a family member’s 
serious medical condition, birth of a child or military exigency and up to 26 weeks of 
leave to care for a covered service member or veteran. 

 
F. LWOP:  Leave without pay. 
 
G. Leave Time:  Time accrued as sick leave, annual leave and compensatory leave. 
 
H. Modified Work Assignment (MWA): A Modified Work Assignment is given to an 

employee who can perform all of the essential functions of their job classification, but is 
unable to perform some of the non-essential functions of their job classification; which 
classification may be subject to reasonable accommodation. The employee is relieved of 
performing some of the non-essential functions of their classification. 

 
I. MMI:  Maximum Medical Improvement. 
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J. Pre-Existing Physical Impairment: A disclosure of a prospective employee's medical 

condition regardless of origin, which could or will affect the person's ability to perform 
the duties of the position for which the person applied.  Medical histories are not public 
record and disclosures will be held confidential.  

 
K. RMD: Risk Management Division of the State of New Mexico. 
 
L. Root: Determination of main cause of a problem or a problematic event arrived at 

through a root cause analysis. 
 
M. Temporary Duty Assignment (TDA): A Temporary Duty Assignment is given to an 

employee who cannot perform all of the essential functions of their classification; for 
which classification it is not possible to reasonably accommodate the employee by 
relieving the employee of performing any essential functions (e.g., Correctional Officers 
and Correctional Officer Specialists).  It is a temporary duty assignment comprised of a 
combination of duties from one or more positions. 

 
POLICY: 
 

The NMCD will comply with all provisions of the New Mexico Workers’ Compensation Act, 
the FMLA and the ADA to ensure that all employees are aware that they are covered under the 
provisions of these laws. 

 
A. All claims of Worker Compensation will be handled in compliance with the procedures 

in CD-032301. 
 
B. All employees shall practice safety in the work place and in operation of equipment at all 

times. 
 
C. Workers compensation shall be a part of the personnel policy manual. [4-4048] 
 
D. All incidents that result in injury to an employee are reported to the administrator or 

designee within a specified period of time. The administrator or designee will review the 
report and take appropriate corrective action. [2-CO-1C-05] 

  
E. All employees who have direct contact with offenders shall receive an appropriate 

physical examination prior to job assignment. All other employees receive medical 
screening prior to job assignment. Employees receive re-examinations according to a 
defined need or schedule. [4-4062] 
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__________________________________                                      02/24/15        
Gregg Marcantel, Secretary of Corrections                                       Date 
New Mexico Corrections Department  



 
 
 
 

 

 CD-032301 

 
Courage Responsibility Ethics Dedication - CREDibly serving the public safety of New Mexico 

ISSUE DATE:            10/30/85   REVIEW/REVISED:  02/24/15 

TITLE:   Workers’ Compensation and Early Return to Work 

 
AUTHORITY: 
 

Policy CD-032300 
 
PROCEDURES: [4-APPFS-3D-26] [2-CI-1A-6] [4-4062] 
 
NOTIFICATION/TREATMENT/EARLY RETURN TO WORK: 
 

A. Employee Obligations: 
 

1. All employees shall immediately report to their immediate supervisor any accident 
or injury that has occurred during their normal work assignment. 

 
2. All employees shall complete the Workers' Compensation Notice of Accident 

form (NOA-1), available through the Human Resources Bureau (HR), for any 
accident or injury that has occurred during their normal work assignment even if it 
is a minor accident or injury not requiring medical treatment and not resulting in 
loss of time from work. 

 
3. All employees placed in a TDA or MWA approved by their physician, who refuse 

the assignment or by performing tasks or acts not consistent with or authorized by 
their TDA/MWA are in violation of their TDA/MWA and may be subject to 
disciplinary action. 

 
B. Immediate Supervisor Obligations: 

 
1. The immediate supervisor, in conjunction with the employee, shall complete the 

Workers' Compensation Notice of Accident form (NOA-1), if involved in any 
minor accident or injury not requiring medical treatment and not resulting in loss of 
time from work. 
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2. The immediate supervisor, in conjunction with the Fire Safety Program Manager, 

will investigate the accident scene to determine the root cause of the accident and 
will make necessary changes to reduce the likelihood of recurrence of the same type 
accident. They will complete the Workers' Compensation First Report of 
Accident form (WCA E1.1), (available through HR), describing all details related to 
the accident and a copy will be sent to the respective payroll officer and the state's 
contractor adjuster. 

 
3. If the investigation produces evidence that the employee willfully or intentionally             

violated NMCD policy, the report will be submitted to the appropriate appointing 
authority for possible disciplinary action. 

 
C. Contractor Adjuster/Insurance Carrier: 

 
1. Will process the claim in its entirety and will file the claim with the Workers' 

Compensation Administration. 
 

D. Safety Program Director: [2-CO-1C-05] 
 

1. Will review the accident report and, if warranted, conduct a follow-up investigation. 
 
2. Will follow-up on changes made to reduce the likelihood of recurrence of the same 

type of accident. 
 
3. Report any noted problems to injured employee's adjustment to the work place, 

supervisor, or co-workers to the appointing authority for possible resolution. 
 

E. Labor Relations’ Obligations: 
 

1. Will inform the employee of the Department's ERTW. 
 
2. Will provide the employee with a list of the essential job functions or TDA for 

medical evaluation by the employee’s treating physician. 
 
3. In the event the employee’s treating physician does not release the employee to 

return to normal duty, and a MWA or TDA is available, the physician will be 
advised of available work for evaluation. 
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a. No employee will be permitted to return to full duty (or otherwise considered 

qualified to return to full duty) unless they have provided HR with a Release to 
Full Duty form (CD-032301.1) 

 
b. It is the employee’s responsibility to provide his or her treating physician with 

a blank Release to Full Duty form (CD-032301.1).  If the treating physician 
completes said form, i.e., releases the employee back to full duty, the employee 
shall provide HR with an original copy of the form within three (3) working 
days of said release.  It is the employee’s responsibility to obtain the form from 
HR and provide it to his/her physician.  Unless and until the employee provides 
HR with the Release to Full Duty form, the Department will assume that the 
employee has not been released to full duty and cannot perform the essential 
functions of his or her pre-injury, full duty position even if the employee has 
provided HR with treating physician’s notes, reports opinions, letters, etc., that 
state that the employee can return to full duty.  

 
4. If the employee declines a MWA or TDA that has been approved by the treating 

physician, HR will notify RMD with copies to the appropriate appointing authority 
and HR Administrator. 

 
5. HR will make the necessary arrangements to return the employee to work as soon as 

possible and complete the Doctor Visit/ Modified Work Assignment (Work 
Related) form (CD-032301.2) or the Doctor Visit/ Modified Work Assignment 
(Non-Work Related) form (CD-032301.3). 

 
6. HR will review Doctor's Query form after each visit to monitor the employee’s 

progress. 
 

7. The employee may return to work in an MWA for up to 6 months.  The MWA may 
be extended for up to 6 additional months if substantial progress in recovery has 
been demonstrated and return to full duty is anticipated within these 12 months.  If 
the employee cannot return to full duty within 12 months, a copy of the employee’s 
complete ERTW file will be forwarded to the Human Resources Bureau Chief 
(HRBC). 

 
8. The HRBC shall review the employees file to determine if State Personnel Board 

(SPB) rules as well as Department policy were followed. 
 

9. The HRBC shall notify the employee in writing that he or she should return to their 
position, or a position that he or she qualifies for, within ninety (90) days and that 
failure to do so may result in the employee being separated (without prejudice) from 
their position. 
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10. During the ninety (90) day period, the Human Resource Bureau (HR)  shall review 
Department job vacancies to determine if the employee can be permanently 
reassigned to another position under the following circumstances: 

 
a. MMI has been reached and the employee cannot perform one or more of the 

essential functions of the present job classification with or without an 
accommodation.  

 
b. MMI is not attained within 12 months for a MWA or TDA. 
 
c. The employee reports that he or she will be unable, due to a permanent 

disability, to perform the essential job functions of his or her present position. 
 
d. The Department will make reasonable efforts to find suitable vacant positions 

within the agency at the same or lower midpoint than the midpoint of the pre-
injury/pre-illness position for which the employee, (either with or without 
reasonable accommodation,)either; meets the requirements and can perform the 
essential functions of the job or the Department certifies that the employee 
holds qualifications and abilities necessary for successful job performance and 
can perform the essential functions of the job. 

 
e. If approval is granted by the appointing authority, the local HR administrator 

will inform the HRBC who will proceed to request an exemption to the 
recruitment process through the State Personnel Office (SPO). 

 
f. If no suitable position is available or if the employee rejects an alternative 

employment offer, the appointing authority shall proceed with a notice of 
contemplated separation in accordance with State Personnel Board Rule 
1.7.10.13 Separation without Prejudice. 

 
F. General Counsel: 

 
If no suitable vacant positions exist, the Office of General Counsel shall review the case 
to determine if all appropriate measures have been taken to return the employee to work. 

 
G. Appointing Authority: 

 
After review is completed, if a position is not available or if the employee rejects an 
alternative employment offer, the appointing authority shall take action to separate the 
employee. 
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H. Benefits Administration: 
 

1. Upon adjudication by the Workers’ Compensation Administration that the injured 
employee is entitled to benefits: 

 
a. The employee will be given credit for a full workday on the date of the injury 

without charging it to sick leave. 
 

b. The next five (5) working days are chargeable to sick leave, if the employee has 
sick leave available, or if sick leave has been exhausted, annual leave may be 
used at the employee's option.  In either case, the employee must request the 
leave by completing form SPB-001. 

 
c. After the first seven consecutive calendar days, when an employee is unable to 

work, Workers’ Compensation will commence paying the employee 66 2/3% 
of the average gross weekly wage (or the maximum weekly payment specified 
by law, whichever is less). 

 
d. Starting on the eighth consecutive calendar day, 1/3 of the employee's missed 

time is charged to sick leave until it has been exhausted and then to annual 
leave, in accordance with the following scale: 

 
1) 2.7 hours per day for full-time employees. 
2) 2 hours per day for three-quarter time employees. 
3) 1.4 hours per day for half-time employees. 
4) Indicated on the time sheet, "On Workers’ Compensation Coverage", sick 

and/or annual leave must be requested by the employee by completing 
Form SPB-001. 

 
e. When an employee has exhausted his or her accrued leave, the employee must 

request Leave without Pay using Request for Leave without Pay form (CD-
032801.1) in maximum increments of 30 calendar days. A statement must 
accompany the request from the employee's treating physician indicating when 
the employee might be expected to return to duty.  This option is only available 
if the treating physician indicated that the employee cannot return to work to 
MWA or TDA or such duty is not available. 
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f. The employee will be informed when leave without pay has been granted for 

thirty (30) calendar days (or less if so requested).  If he or she is unable to 
return to work after thirty (30) calendar days (or less, if less was requested and 
approved), they must submit a second request for LWOP a minimum of five (5) 
working days prior to the expiration of the approved leave or they will be 
charged AWOL and may be subject to disciplinary action including dismissal. 
LWOP cannot exceed thirty (30) calendar days for probationary employees or 
twelve (12) consecutive months for permanent employees, unless approved by 
the employee’s Division Director.) 

 
g. If the employee fails to return to work as directed, the appointing authority will 

proceed with disciplinary action or separation from employment in accordance 
with SPB Rule 1 NMAC 7.10.12 or 7.10.13 and Department Policies. 

 
h. If an employee is absent from work for two (2) consecutive calendar days, 

Workers’ Compensation insurance retroactively pays the employee for the first 
seven (7) days he or she was absent from work.  Since these seven (7) days 
have already been paid by sick leave, it is necessary that the employee's 
supervisor notify the appropriate payroll officer in writing that the employee 
has been absent for twenty-eight (28) days.  The payroll officer will set up an 
accounts receivable for 66 2/3% of the amount paid to the employee for the 
days of sick or annual leave in that seven (7) day period.  An hour’s adjustment 
will be used to reinstate the twenty-seven (27) (2.3 of 40) hours leave to the 
employee's records. 

 
I. Fire/Safety Program Manager: 
 

1. Will examine all accident reports and work with the Facilities Safety and Sanitation 
Officer (FSSO) and Operations Manager where required, and take whatever 
corrective action is deemed necessary to prevent similar accidents in the future. 

 
2. Will ensure that each accident report will be discussed at the monthly safety 

meeting immediately following the accident. If appropriate, an analysis of the 
accident, the root cause and basic preventive measures will be discussed in this 
meeting. 

 

   
__________________________________                                      02/24/15        
Gregg Marcantel, Secretary of Corrections                                       Date 
New Mexico Corrections Department  
 



 
 
 
 

Form (CD-032301.1) 
Revised 02/24/15 

 
NEW MEXICO CORRECTIONS DEPARTMENT 

 
Release to Full Duty 

 
I have reviewed the ADA job description for the position of     

and I am releasing     (employee name) to full duty, with no restriction, 

based on the physical demands of the position.  This release to full duty is effective  

     (Date). 

 

        
Physician’s Name 
 
        
Physician’s Signature 
 
        
Date 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
 
 
 

Form (CD-032301.2) 
Revised 02/24/15 

NEW MEXICO CORRECTIONS DEPARTMENT 
RISK MANAGEMENT DIVISION 

DOCTOR VISIT/MODIFIED WORK ASSIGNMENT (WORK RELATED) 
 

EMPLOYEE IS TO RETURN THIS COMPLETED FORM TO HIS/HER 
EMPLOYER AT THE CONCLUSION OF EACH AND EVERY DOCTOR VISIT 

 
DATE:       EMPLOYER:         
 
DOCTOR:     SOCIAL SECURITY #:        
 
      Is a State of New Mexico, Corrections Department employee.  An alleged on the 
job injury was reported by this employee on     which may require treatment as you determine.  Please 
complete the data below so that a claim may be process by the Worker’s Compensation adjusting firm.  The adjusting firm 
has to make the decision as to whether the claim is compensable and the employee should be considered to be responsible 
for payment of your charges until that determination is made. 
 
Thank you for your cooperation in this matter. 
 
                        
Human Resource Supervisor     Agency/Division   Phone 
 
  
 
1. Diagnosis               

               

2. Was the employee released today? Yes    No   

3. X-ray(s)? Today: Yes     No    Previously: Yes    No   

4. Medication prescribed? Yes     No    Continued   

Will medication affect job performance? Yes    No   

5. Can employee return to normal duty at this time?   Yes    No   

6. If “No”, can employee return to work on a limited/restricted basis? Yes      No   

7. If “Yes” to #6, what restrictions?                No reaching above shoulder    No pushing/pulling 

   No climbing of stairs or ladders   No operation of machinery    No lifting over    

   No repetitive waist bending    No kneeling/squatting    Limited/no use of    

 Other                

                

 How long will restrictions last? Until next visit        other date        

8. When is next scheduled visit?        

9. Other comments              

               

 

 
 
 



 
 
 
 

Form (CD-032301.3) 
Revised 02/24/15 

NEW MEXICO CORRECTIONS DEPARTMENT 
RISK MANAGEMENT DIVISION 

DOCTOR VISIT/MODIFIED WORK ASSIGNMENT (NON-WORK RELATED) 
 

EMPLOYEE IS TO RETURN THIS COMPLETED FORM TO HIS/HER 
EMPLOYER AT THE CONCLUSION OF EACH AND EVERY DOCTOR VISIT 

 
DATE:       EMPLOYER:         
 
DOCTOR:     SOCIAL SECURITY #:        
 
      Is a State of New Mexico, Corrections Department employee.  In order to 
accurately determine his or her working status, please complete the data below so that a determination may be made 
whether to return the employee to full duty or return the employee to a modified work assignment (light duty). 
 
Thank you for your cooperation in this matter. 
 
                        
Human Resource Supervisor     Agency/Division   Phone 
 
  
 
1. Diagnosis               

               

2. Was the employee released today? Yes    No   

3. X-ray(s)? Today: Yes     No    Previously: Yes    No   

4. Medication prescribed? Yes     No    Continued   

Will medication affect job performance? Yes    No   

5. Can employee return to normal duty at this time?   Yes    No   

6. If “No”, can employee return to work on a limited/restricted basis? Yes      No   

7. If “Yes” to #6, what restrictions?                No reaching above shoulder    No pushing/pulling 

   No climbing of stairs or ladders   No operation of machinery    No lifting over    

   No repetitive waist bending    No kneeling/squatting    Limited/no use of    

 Other                

                

 How long will restrictions last? Until next visit        other date        

8. When is next scheduled visit?        

9. Other comments              

               

 

 


	ISSUE DATE:            10/30/85   REVIEW/REVISED:  02/24/15
	EFFECTIVE DATE:  11/13/85
	ISSUE DATE:            10/30/85   REVIEW/REVISED:  02/24/15
	EMPLOYEE IS TO RETURN THIS COMPLETED FORM TO HIS/HER
	EMPLOYER AT THE CONCLUSION OF EACH AND EVERY DOCTOR VISIT
	EMPLOYEE IS TO RETURN THIS COMPLETED FORM TO HIS/HER
	EMPLOYER AT THE CONCLUSION OF EACH AND EVERY DOCTOR VISIT

