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Courage Responsibility Ethics Dedication - CREDibly serving the public safety of New Mexico 
ISSUE DATE:            02/21/94 REVIEW/REVISED:  03/09/15 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  02/21/94 
TITLE:  Collections Disbursement of Probation & Parole Costs,   

Restitution, and Other Fees or Costs 
 
AUTHORITY: 

NMSA 1978, Sections 31-19-1, 31-20-6, 31-21-10 (F), 31-21-7, as amended. 
 
REFERENCE: 
 

ACA Standard 4-APPFS-2F-02 and 4-APPFS-3D-24, Performance Based Standards for 
Adult Probation and Parole Field Services, 4th Edition 

 
PURPOSE: 
 

To provide a process for the collection, safeguarding and disbursement of all 
probation/parole costs, fines, fees and restitution assessed a probationer by the courts and/or 
ordered by the Adult Parole Board and/or Interstate Compact rules and guidelines. 

 
APPLICABILITY: 
 

All Probation and Parole Division staff. 
 
FORMS: 
 

A. Change in Offender Payment Plan form (CD-053101.1)  
B. Restitution Plan Approval form (CD-053101.2) 
C. Promissory Note form (CD-053101.3) 

 
ATTACHMENTS: 
 

None 
 
DEFINITIONS: 
 

A. Probation/Parole Costs: Costs assessed to an offender by the court at the time of 
sentencing by the Adult Parole Board or through an Interstate Compact Supervision 
transfer are not to be less than $25.00 per month or more than $150.00 per month. 
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B. Restitution: Full or partial payment of actual damages to victim with actual damages 

being what a victim could recover against the defendant in a civil action arising out of 
the same facts or event, except punitive damages and damages for pain, suffering, 
mental anguish and loss of consortium. Without limitation, actual damages may also 
include damages for wrongful death. 

 
C. Fines: Monetary penalties assessed by the sentencing Court per the applicable statutory 

penalty for that offense. 
 
D. Fees: Monetary costs assessed by the sentencing court per statutory authority and 

payable to the court, or other designated public agency (i.e., DNA fees, lab fees, etc). 
 

E. Community Corrections Fees: Monetary costs assessed on offenders as part of 
participation in specialized programs. 

 
F. Global Positioning System (GPS) Fees: Monetary costs assessed on offenders as part of 

being placed on GPS. This may also include reimbursement for lost or damaged GPS 
equipment.  

 
G. Centralized Offender Payment System (COPS): An automated system located in F-

track which tracks and monitors offender payment for PPD.   
 

POLICY: 
 

A. The agency places priority on services and opportunities that encourage offenders to 
make restitution to the victim(s) of the crime(s) and/or to the community. [4-APPFS-
2F-02] 

 
B. When funds are collected from offenders, the agency administrator ensures the 

appropriate collection, safeguarding and disbursement of all monies consistent with law, 
policies, and directives. Staff is trained in these processes and they are reviewed 
annually. [4-APPFS-3D-24] 

 
C. Probation/Parole costs will be collected on a monthly basis for services provided as 

required by New Mexico statutes. 
 
D. Designated Division personnel are responsible for the collection and daily disbursement 

of all probation costs, restitution, fines and other fees and costs assessed to a probationer 
ordered by a court of legal jurisdiction and such other costs the court orders Division 
personnel to collect. Designated Division personnel are also responsible for collection of 
any parole costs assessed a parolee by the New Mexico Adult Parole Board. 
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E. Probation and Parole Officers are responsible for assessing changes in each offender's 

financial status, which would affect the offender's ability to pay.   
 
F. NON-PAYMENT of the required costs is a violation of probation or parole, but offenders 

shall not be confronted with possible probation/parole violations for failure to meet 
financial obligations other than those that are specifically conditions of probation/parole. 
However, offenders should be encouraged to pay other financial obligations.  

 
G. All payments will be made in the form of money orders or cashier’s checks.  
 
H. Payments for probation/parole costs, Community Corrections costs, and GPS costs will 

be made payable to the New Mexico Corrections Department (NMCD).  
 
I. Payments for restitution will be made payable to the victim, unless otherwise directed by 

the Court.  
 
J. Payments for fines or fees will be made payable to the appropriate court or agency.  
 
K. Blank money orders/cashier's checks will not be accepted. No coin, currency or personal 

checks shall be accepted as payment for probation/parole costs. Amounts will be assessed 
on a calendar month basis. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

    
___________________________________________                      03/09/15  
Gregg Marcantel, Secretary of Corrections                                Date 
New Mexico Corrections Department 
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Courage Responsibility Ethics Dedication - CREDibly serving the public safety of New Mexico 

ISSUE DATE:            02/21/94 REVIEW/REVISED:  03/09/15 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  02/21/94 
TITLE:  Collections Disbursement of Probation & Parole Costs,   

Restitution, and Other Fees or Costs 
 
AUTHORITY: 

 
Policy CD-053000 

 
PROCEDURES: [4-APPFS-2F-02] 
 

A. Offenders will be assessed probation and/or parole costs at a rate of not less than $25.00 
or more than $150.00 a month. Exceptions to this rate schedule will be based on 
circumstances verified by the Probation and Parole Officer and approved by the 
sentencing authority. The amount to be paid each month will be determined by the 
sentencing court for all probation offenders and by the Adult Parole Board for all parole 
offenders. Any modifications or suspensions of payments during the term of supervision 
will be recommended by the offender's supervising officer and approved by the court. 

 
B. Out-of-state parolees and probationers will be required to pay a minimum of $25.00 up to 

a maximum of $150 per month in supervision fees. Any modification or suspension of 
payments requires that the Probation/Parole Officer submit his recommendation for 
modification to his or her immediate supervisor. All general rules, processes and 
procedures applied to New Mexico cases in regard to payment of supervision fees apply 
to out-of-state cases required to pay supervision fees.  

 
C. Out-of-state offenders will be required to pay $100.00 DNA fee. All general rules, 

processes, and procedures applied to NM cases in regard to payment of DNA fees apply 
to out-of-state cases. 
 

D. Offenders who are under parole supervision with probation to follow, arising out of the 
same conviction which led to the parole will be assessed only parole costs as ordered by 
the NM Parole Board. Any probation costs ordered will be collected during the period of 
probation supervision which follows the parole. 

 
E. Probation/Parole Officers (PPOs) will recommend an amount to be paid each month for 

each offender based on a thorough investigation of the offender's financial status.   
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1.  The following criteria will be used in evaluating the offender's ability to pay for 
services provided: 

 
-- Is the offender employed? Will he/she be employed upon being granted 

probation or parole? 
 

-- What are the offender's debts, if any? 
 
-- Will the offender encounter any anticipated debts in the near future (vehicle, 

housing, etc)? 
 
-- Does the offender have dependents?  If so, how many? Does the offender have 

an alimony and/or child support obligation? 
 
-- What is the offender's and his/her dependents' health/mental condition?  Are 

there medical bills to be paid? 
 
-- What is the offender's overall financial condition? 

 
2.  An analysis of the findings will be incorporated into the pre-sentence report for 

probation offenders and into the parole plan for parole offenders. The PPO is 
responsible for verifying the information provided by offenders by contacting 
employers, banks, social service agencies, medical personnel and others. The 
officer will recommend the amount to be paid to the approving authority and should 
be particularly careful to relay, in clear terms, the reasons why the specific 
recommendation was made. 

 
3.  Whenever possible, the PPO shall determine the total amount of restitution to be 

made to the victim at the time the pre-sentence report is prepared. The Restitution 
Plan Approval form (CD-053101.2), will be made a part of the pre-sentence report.  

 
4.  In cases where a pre-sentence report is not ordered and the judgment does not 

specify, the PPO will determine the amount of restitution and payment plan with the 
offender. The PPO will submit the agreed-upon amount utilizing the Restitution 
Plan Approval form (CD-053101.2) to the sentencing authority. When a 
disagreement arises between the offender and the PPO over the amount of 
restitution and/or payment plan, the PPO will request a restitution hearing from the 
sentencing judge, who will make the final determination.  
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5. In cases where an offender is due to be discharged from supervision and has not 

fully paid their assessed restitution amount, no less than 90 days from the date of 
discharge, the PPO will complete a Promissory Note form (CD-053101.3) with 
details of the offender’s continued payments to the victim after their discharge date 
and instructions on how to submit those payments. A copy of the Promissory Note 
will be placed in the offender’s file and sent to the victim so that both parties are 
aware of the terms of the note. If the offender refuses to sign the promissory note no 
less than 90 days prior to discharge, the PPO shall request a status hearing with the 
Court with a recommendation for unsatisfactory discharge. 

 
F. Assessment of Offender's Ability to Pay Costs and Notification to Offender: 

 
1. The PPO will inquire into the factors relating to offender's ability to make payment 

for probation/parole services and incorporate his or her findings in any required 
pre-sentence report or parole plan checkout. This recommendation shall include 
specific facts and findings justifying the officer's recommendation, and will include 
a recommendation for the amount to be paid monthly. 

 
2. The sentencing court or the Adult Parole Board will determine the amount to be 

paid monthly and inform the offender and PPO through the Judgment and Sentence 
or the parole certificate.  

 
a. If the court fails to specify the amount to be paid on the Judgment and 

Sentence, the PPO will specify an amount on the Order of Probation and 
will note whether the Judge accepts or modifies that recommendation.  
 

b. If the Parole Board fails to specify the amount to be paid on the Parole 
Certificate, the PPO will send a letter to the Parole Board through the 
District Supervisor, requesting clarification of the Parole Board's intent 
for payment. The letter will include a recommendation by the PPO for an 
amount of payment.  

 
3. Upon notification by the court, the PPO will review the policy and procedures for 

payment of probation/parole costs with the offender and discuss due dates and the 
offender's and officer's responsibilities.      
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G. Modification of Scheduled Payments: 
 

1. Should circumstances warrant a modification in the monthly payment amount at 
any time during the offender's supervision, the officer will make a recommendation 
for modification or suspension of payment on the Change in Offender Payment 
Plan form (CD-053101.1) and forward the form to his or her immediate supervisor. 
Attachment A may be modified to conform to court requests. 

 
2. The officer's supervisor will either approve or disapprove the recommendation. 

 
a. If disapproved, the recommendation will be returned to the officer with the 

reason for disapproval and no further action will be taken. 
 

b. If approved, the supervisor will notify the officer and the officer shall forward 
the recommendation to the appropriate authority. 

 
3. The court will be requested to approve or disapprove the modification or 

termination of payments and return the form to the probation/parole district office. 
 
4. The supervising officer will notify the offender of the action and retain the 

approved form in the offender's file. 
 
5. If the court or Parole Board orders the offender to pay restitution to a victim and 

any or all of the loss is paid to the victim by an insurance company, the officer shall 
notify the court or Parole Board of the payment, and request a written order as to 
whether or not the offender should continue to pay that restitution in addition to the 
insurance payout.  Restitution that was ordered beyond or separate from the amount 
of the insurance claim will continue to be paid as ordered. 

 
H. Collecting, Disbursing and Recording Payments: 

   
1. During regular meetings with the PPO the offender will be given a remittance slip 

and a pre-addressed envelope to the Centralized Offenders Payment System  
(COPS) office with a return address of the appropriate district office as set out in 
the example below:  

 
Adult Probation and Parole 
COPS Office 
116 Mecham Street 
Socorro, New Mexico 87801-4506 
 
Or  
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Adult Probation and Parole 
COPS Office 
PO Box 27116 
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87502-0116 
 
The offender will return the remittance slip to the PPO for stamping and mailing or 
will mail directly to COPS office. 

 
2. Once the payment is received at the COPS office, the COPS operator will enter the 

payment into the system, according to established guidelines, and deposit it or 
forward the payment to the intended recipient by the close of the next business day 
in accordance with state statutes.  

 
3. Payments will be made by money order or cashier's check. Cash, personal/business 

checks, or blank money orders/cashier's checks shall not be accepted. 
 
4. Offenders required to pay probation or parole fees will make the money 

orders/cashier's checks payable to the Corrections Department (NMCD).  Offenders 
required to pay DNA fees will make the money orders/cashier's checks payable to 
the DNA Identification Fund.  

 
a.  Each day a Deposit Slip for Probation and Parole fees and/or DNA fees and 

cashier’s checks or money orders will be prepared and the first five (5) copies 
of the deposit form will be sent to the state fiscal agent bank. 

 
b.  DNA fees will be identified and deposited into Fund 402, Agency 790, 

Revenue Source 2993. 
 
c.  On DNA deposits, copies of transmittal and of deposit form will be submitted 

to: 
 

Department of Public Safety Finance Bureau 
P.O. Box 1628 
Santa Fe, NM  87504. 

 
5. Offenders required to pay restitution through the Probation and Parole Office must 

make payments in the form of a money order or cashier's check made out to the 
victim, unless otherwise directed by the Court. 
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6.  NON-PAYMENT of the required costs is a violation of probation or parole; 
however offenders shall not be confronted with possible probation/parole violations 
for failure to meet financial obligations other than those that are specifically 
conditions of probation/parole. Nonetheless, offender should always be encouraged 
to pay other financial obligations. In cases of non-payment, the officer will contact 
the court or Parole Board to advise of the violation, and request guidance as to how 
to proceed and address the issue, and will follow any direction given on the matter.   

 
I. Auditing: 

 
1. The district supervisor will, on a quarterly basis, audit the COPS to ensure costs are 

being collected and the offender is not in arrears. Corrective action will be taken on 
audit exceptions. 

 
2. At least 90 days prior to a case being closed out, the supervising officer will 

conduct an audit to ensure that all assessed fees were paid and properly recorded. 
Outstanding costs will be addressed with the offender. 

 
3.  The Administrative Services Division (ASD) will prepare district quarterly reports 

of all fees received and deposited. If any discrepancies are noted, it will be the 
responsibility of the district supervisor or his/her designee to ensure ASD is notified 
of the discrepancy and action is taken to reconcile the difference. 

                                                                        
4.  This policy, procedure and practice shall be made known to staff and reviewed 

annually. [4-APPFS-3D-24] 
 
 
 
 

 
___________________________________________                    03/09/15  
Gregg Marcantel, Secretary of Corrections                         Date 
New Mexico Corrections Department 



 

 
 

 

Form CD-053101.1 
Revised 03/09/15 

NEW MEXICO CORRECTIONS DEPARTMENT 
PROBATION AND PAROLE DIVISION 

Change in Offender Payment Plan 
 

 

 

Offender’s Name:   

Offender’s Case Number:  
 

  

Date:  

  

 
 

 

 

Current Monthly Payment: $      Recommended Change: $      

Reason(s) for Modification or Suspension:       

 
 

 

 
 Approved 

 Disapproved Probation-Parole Officer Date 

 
  

Supervisor Date 

(Below to be completed by Approving Authority, Court, or Parole Board) 

 Approved 

 
 

  Disapproved 

 
 Date 

 



 

 
 

 

Form CD-053101.2 
Revised 03/09/15 

NEW MEXICO CORRECTIONS DEPARTMENT 
PROBATION AND PAROLE DIVISION 

Restitution Plan Approval 
 

 

  

County of  

State of New Mexico 

Offender’s Name:   

Offender’s Case Number: 

 

I,                                                                      , understand that I owe restitution in this case as follows: 

  Amount $   

 Amount $  

 Amount $  

 Amount $  

 

 agree to make payments at a minimum rate of $       per month. If restitution is not paid by the end 
of my probation period I will continue to make payments to the victim(s) until the balance is paid in full.  

Additional terms:       

I understand my obligation and agree to abide by these terms. 

    

 Date 

Probation/Parole Officer 

 

____________________________________________ 

Probation/Parole Supervisor 

It is ordered that the above plan is approved and its specific terms are made conditions of probation. 

  

Honorable  

 
 
 



 

 
 

 

Form CD-053101.3 
Revised 03/09/15 

NEW MEXICO CORRECTIONS DEPARTMENT 
PROBATION AND PAROLE DIVISION 

Promissory Note 
I promise to pay the sum of $                 and fees and other charges provided herein for this restitution.  

(Offender Name) agrees to pay as follows: 

      payments of $           of principal on the        day of every month beginning          , and continuing until 
this Note is paid in full. 

This restitution is payable in full on    . (Offender Name) must repay the outstanding principal balance 
of the restitution then due. The victim in the case is under no obligation to agree to change in payment at any 
time. 

(Offender Name) may prepay at any time, the entire indebtedness or any part thereof evidenced by this Note and 
such prepayments shall be applied in the manner scheduled payments are applied. Partial prepayments shall not 
postpone the due date of any subsequent monthly installments or change the amount of such installments and 
shall not postpone the due date for payment of the indebtedness evidenced by this Note. 

 

Default: I will be in default on this Note if any one of more of the following occurs: 

 I fail to make a payment on time or in the amount due 

 I die, am declared incompetent, or become bankrupt or insolvent 

 I fail to keep any promise contained in this Note, or any other written agreement with the Victim 

 I make any written statement or provide any financial information that is untrue or inaccurate 

 If any other event occurs which reasonably causes the Victim to be insecure about being repaid 

Attorney’s Fees: If the Victim hires a lawyer (at any time or from time to time) to collect or protect his or her rights 
under this Note due to my failure to comply with the conditions set herein, I agree to pay the fee, plus the Victim’s 
costs and other expenses. 

 

Applicable law: This Note will be governed by the law of the State of New Mexico. 

 

Signatures: Each person who signs this agreement acknowledges receipt of a copy. 

Dated this  day of  
 

Offender’s address: 

 
 

 

Signed:  Witnessed:  

    

 

Payment will be made out to      in the form of a money order or cashier’s check and 
mailed to: 

  

 

     

(Per scheduled payment note herein)  
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