
NEW MEXICO CORRECTIONS DEPARTMENT 

PROBATION PAROLE DIVISION 

OFFENDER ORIENTATION HANDBOOK 

 

This handbook has been prepared to help you understand your term of supervision in the community. Read it 

carefully and if you have any questions, discuss them with your supervising Probation Parole Officer. This book 

tells you what is expected of you and what you can expect in general. It does not address your specific 

conditions of supervision, which vary from case to case. Remember that you are responsible for being aware of 

those conditions and abiding by them. Successful completion of your term of supervision is the goal of the 

Probation Parole Division. Make it your goal too and you can look forward to a successful discharge from 

supervision.  

 

CIVIL RIGHTS INFORMATION 

 

By New Mexico law, any person convicted of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a period of one year or 

more, even though the sentence is suspended or deferred, loses the following civil rights upon conviction:  

 

1. The right to vote  

2. The right to bear arms, and  

3. The right to hold elected public office.  

 

Federal law also prohibits such persons from possessing, receiving, shipping or transporting firearms or 

ammunition, upon penalty of not more than ten years imprisonment and/or a fine not to exceed $250,000 and a 

mandatory term of supervised release of not more than 2 years nor more than 3 years (18 U.S.C., Sections 

1922g1 and 1924a2).  

 

If your sentence was suspended, these rights may be restored to you by a grant of Executive Clemency (also 

known as a pardon), in accordance with the Governor’s Executive Clemency Policy. (If you have a felony 

conviction from another state as well, you must seek a pardon from the Governor of that state). If you have 

successfully completed the terms of your supervision, you may request of your Probation/Parole Officer a 

Certificate of Completion of Sentence. By taking this document to the County Clerk’s office you may have your  

rights restored. (Your right to vote is automatically restored upon completion of your sentence and it is not 

necessary to take the Certificate of Completion of Sentence to the County Clerk.)  

 

If your sentence was deferred, your rights are restored by receipt of an Order of Dismissal from the sentencing 

judge after you complete probation. If you have specific questions about the restoration of your rights, you 

should contact your attorney.  

 

Additionally, the State of New Mexico has the power to refuse to grant or renew (and may suspend or revoke) 

public employment or a license to conduct certain trades, businesses and professions when a person has been 

convicted of a felony or certain  

misdemeanors (Section 228-2-1 through 6, NMSA, 1978) A pardon is generally not required to restore the 

ability to be licensed, however, at a minimum, you must satisfactorily complete your term of probation or 

parole.  

 

CODE OF ETHICS 

 

A. Employees of the Corrections Department are subject to a strict Code of Ethics, as expressed in NMCD 

Policy CD-032200. The Code of Ethics is available at the NMCD website, under NMCD policies, at 

http://cd.nm.gov/policies/policies.html. Offenders are encouraged to review the Code of Ethics and may 

request guidance related to the Code of Ethics from their Supervising Officer or any other NMCD 

employee. NMCD has a zero tolerance policy for any unprofessional, unethical, dishonest, or illegal 



conduct by its employees.  

 

B. The chief purpose of the Corrections Department is to enforce the commitment orders of the courts and 

to supervise offenders under its charge, while aiding them in their rehabilitation process.  

 

C. Staff cannot discriminate against any probationer or parolee on the basis of race, color, sex, religion, 

national origin, age or disability.  

 

D. Staff cannot have undue familiarity or any sort of financial or business transactions with probationers or 

parolees or their immediate families, agents or close friends. Staff cannot give or accept any gifts or 

gratuities to or from, or engage in any personal business with probationers or parolees or their 

immediate families, agents or close friends. Undue familiarity is that degree of familiarity with such a 

person that goes beyond the degree of familiarity necessary for the employee to perform his or her duties 

on behalf of the NMCD. Undue familiarity includes, but is not limited to, the following: 

 

1. Any financial or business transactions,  

2. Loaning or giving items,  

3. Writing or exchanging notes, letters or pictures,  

4. Engaging in telephone conversations,  

5. Spending an unusual amount of time alone with offenders, except as necessary to perform duties 

on behalf of the NMCD.  

6. Displays of affection toward or an intimate or personal relationship;  

7. Sexual misconduct, meaning any behavior or act of a sexual nature towards an offender, 

including:   

• Sexual assault;  

• Sexual abuse;  

• Sexual contact;  

• Conduct of a sexual nature;  

• Kissing and or hugging;  

• Sexual gratification of any party;  

• Obscenity or unreasonable invasion of privacy;  

• Conversations or correspondence of a romantic, intimate, or sexual nature between an offender 

and any NMCD employee, contractor, volunteer, visitor, or NMCD representative.  

 

GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE 

 

All persons supervised by the New Mexico Corrections Department Probation Parole Division have a right to 

communicate their concerns regarding any actions that they feel might violate their rights. The offender 

grievance procedure is available at the NMCD website, under NMCD policies, at 

http://cd.nm.gov/policies/policies.html in CD-050300 PPD Citizen Complaint and Offender Grievances. Any 

offender who has a grievance will first seek informal resolution (either verbally, in writing, or via the 1-800 

number listed below) and will exhaust all other available administrative remedies prior to using the grievance 

process. After all informal remedies are exhausted with no resolution, the offender may then request an 

Offender Grievance Form (CD-050302.1) from the District Supervisor. The offender will state the grievance on 

the form, using the backside if necessary. One 8.5 x 11 page may be added, if necessary. Grievances exceeding 

this length will be returned to the offender without response by the district supervisor, or other reviewing 

authority. The complaint must be filed with the District Supervisor within 15 calendar days of the incident in 

which the aggrieved action occurred. The District Supervisor will respond to the grievance within ten working 

days of receipt.  

 

If the probationer or parolee feels the District Supervisor’s response was not satisfactory, an appeal may be 

made to the Region Manager within ten calendar days of the receipt of the District Supervisor’s response.  

http://cd.nm.gov/policies/policies.html


 

A grievance form sent directly to the region manager without first filing with the district supervisor will be 

returned to the offender to follow proper procedure. If the offender believes that the complaint is of a sensitive 

or an emergency nature or that there may be adverse effects by the submission of the complaint at the district 

level, the offender may address the complaint directly to the region manger.  

 

If the offender chooses to submit the grievance directly to the region manager, they must indicate a valid reason 

for not bringing the complaint to the attention of the district supervisor. If the offender does not provide a 

reason, or the reason supplied is not adequate, the grievance shall be denied and returned to the offender with a 

written explanation.  

 

Abuse or misuse of the grievance process will result in the offender having to show cause before being 

permitted to grieve. Each grievance will include a single written complaint.  

 

All offender grievance records will be treated as confidential and will be maintained in a separate district file. 

Access is limited to corrections employees who have need for such information to carry out the performance of 

their duties. 

 

Offenders shall not be subject to retaliation, reprisal or discipline for the legitimate use of the grievance 

procedure.  

 

Employees engaging in reprisals against inmates for good faith use of, or participation in, the grievance 

procedure shall be subject to disciplinary action.  

 

NON GRIEVABLE ACTIONS: The offender grievance process may not be used to appeal the disposition of 

violation allegations, any actions outside the control of Division staff (such as actions of the Courts or Parole 

Board), the scoring of Risk/Needs Assessments or the terms of any Intensive Supervision contracts or 

Community Corrections contracts.  

Additional information concerning the grievance process can be obtained from the Probation Parole Office.  

 

SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION 

 

The New Mexico Sex Offenders Act requires all persons convicted of a sex offense on or after July 1, 1995, or 

any person who changes his or her residence to New Mexico, when that person has been convicted of a sex 

offense in another state on or after July 1, 1995, to register with the county sheriff of the county in which the 

sex offender resides. All registered sex offenders must notify the local sheriff’s office within 10 days (5 days if 

convicted on or after July 1, 2013) of any change in address, employment or phone number. A sex offender who 

willfully fails to comply with the registration requirements is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by 

imprisonment for a definite term less than one year or a fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1000), or 

both. After July 1, 2000, failure to register or to report a change in address, employment or phone number will 

be considered to be a fourth degree felony and shall be punishable by imprisonment of 18 months or a fine of 

$5000, or both.  

 

FEE AND RESTITUTION COLLECTION 

 

Since you are under Probation and/or Parole supervision, the sentencing Court or Parole Board may have 

ordered you to pay supervision fees, which are collected on a monthly basis. You may also have been ordered to 

pay restitution. Your supervising Officer will work with you to develop a payment schedule for which you will 

be held responsible. Other ordered costs/fees may include court fines and DNA Identification fees. Your 

supervising Officer will also develop a payment plan for you concerning these financial obligations.  

 

All payments must be made in the form of a money order or cashier’s check. Probation and Parole fees are 



payable to the NM Corrections Department, while restitution payments will be made out to the victim, whose 

name(s) your Probation Parole Officer will provide you. CASH, PERSONAL CHECKS, BUSINESS 

CHECKS, THIRD PARTY CHECKS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED FOR PAYMENT. When you make 

any payment, you will not receive a receipt; however, you may request a printout of your Transaction History at 

any time. It is your responsibility to make all required payments. Your Probation Parole Officer will give you a 

Remittance Slip to send with each payment as well as a mailing envelope. You must put a stamp for first-class 

postage on the envelope or drop off to the Probation/Parole District Office. All payments must be mailed to:  

 

New Mexico Corrections Department 

Probation & Parole Division 

PO Box 27116 

Santa Fe, NM 87502-0116 

 

Payment of fees and/or restitution is not to be taken lightly. Failure to maintain your payments is cause for your 

Officer to file a Violation Report with the Court and/or Parole Board and could result in the revocation of your 

probation and/or parole.  

 

HOW TO CONTACT PROBATION AND PAROLE DIVISION STAFF IN CASE OF AN EMERGENCY 

 

You should make every effort to make contact with your supervising Officer during the regular business hours 

of the office where you routinely report. In case of an actual emergency situation that occurs after business 

hours, the Probation Parole Division maintains a 1-800 number, which you may use to contact your Officer. 

Dial 1-866-416-9867, a number that is maintained on a 24-hour basis by a radio dispatcher who will then call 

your supervising Officer at home and ask the Officer to contact you. If the dispatcher cannot reach your Officer, 

the District Supervisor will be called and asked to call you. You will find this number posted in the Probation 

Parole office where you routinely report and this number will be on your PPO’s business card.  

 

The 1-800 number is available to offenders at any time, for any urgent matter.  

 

For more information on PPD 24-Hour Services for Offenders, please see 

http://cd.nm.gov/policies/policies.html  CD-052400. 

 

WHAT TO EXPECT FROM YOUR PROBATION PAROLE OFFICER 

 

Your Probation Parole Officer is assigned to monitor your compliance with the conditions imposed by the Court 

and/or the Parole Board and to assist you in making the decisions necessary to successfully complete your 

period of supervision. The Officer cannot live your life for you or make the decisions for you as to whether or 

not you comply with your conditions of supervision.  

Your Officer’s job is to assist you in developing a supervision and treatment plan that can help you redirect 

your life. But the Officer, at the same time, is mandated to report any failure to comply with the expectations of 

the Court or Parole Board. The decision to succeed or to fail is yours, and yours alone.  

 

SUPERVISION PLAN: Shortly after you begin supervision, your Officer will determine the level of 

supervision you will be assigned, which then establishes how often you will be required to report and will 

outline specifically what will be expected of you.  

Until that process is completed, you should follow any specific reporting requirements given by your Officer. 

The Officer will work with you to develop a treatment and supervision plan and will provide you with a copy of 

that plan. Your level of supervision and supervision plan will be reviewed at least every six months.  

 

OFFICE VISITS: Whenever you report to the Probation Parole Office, be sure to sign in on the sheet provided 

in the reception area and let the security guard know that you are there and who you need to see. Be advised that 

security staff can and will conduct searches of persons and belongings entering the building. When you report to 

http://cd.nm.gov/policies/policies.html


the Probation Parole Office, you will report by yourself; friends and family must wait outside the building 

unless you have received prior permission from your Probation Parole Officer.  

 

On your first report each month, you will be required to fill out a Monthly Report of your activities of the 

previous month. Fill this form out accurately, completely and legibly. Be sure to sign the report when you have 

completed it. Your Officer may require other reports to be filled out during subsequent office visits and will 

advise you if that is the case.  

 

DRUG TESTING: If your conditions of supervision include a provision for drug testing, you may be required to 

submit a urine specimen at any time while you are under supervision. An Officer will observe the collection of 

this specimen and you will be required to fill out certain paperwork related to the collection of the specimen. If 

you cannot immediately provide a specimen, you will be required to wait at the office until you are able to 

provide one. Unless you wish to wait at the Probation Parole Office for an extended time, you should report 

prepared to leave a urine specimen. Failure to leave a specimen in a timely fashion can be considered failure to 

submit to urinalysis and can be grounds for arrest and for revocation of your Probation and/or Parole. Lab 

results provide detailed information about the drugs in your system as well as any attempts to cover up drug 

usage.  

 

FIELD VISITS: Your Officer may visit you at your home and/or place of employment at any time. The Officer 

must do this as part of the supervision process and it is not their intent to embarrass you or create problems for 

you or your family. If you have any specific concerns about such field visits, you should share them with your 

Officer beforehand. When the Officers are visiting in your home they may ask to see other parts of the house 

and may wish to talk with you and your family. You should provide the Officer with accurate directions to your 

home, and if you have dogs or any other hindrances to their visits. You must make arrangements for your 

residence to be accessible. If you or your family make yourself inaccessible for field visits, you could be 

charged with a violation of your conditions of supervision and/or be required to move to another approved 

residence.  

 

GENERAL INFORMATION: You must secure the permission of your Officer before changing residences or 

employment. You may not travel outside your county of residence without prior permission from your PPO. 

There are specific procedures for transferring your supervision to another jurisdiction, if you have a legitimate 

need to relocate.  

 

ARRESTS: If you are arrested, you must report that arrest to your PPO promptly. If you are arrested after hours, 

use the emergency number to notify the Probation Parole Office. Follow any other specific after hours 

instructions provided you by your supervising officer.  

 

The Probation Parole Office wants you to successfully complete your term of supervision. Your Probation 

Parole Officer will help you succeed. The responsibility is yours.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



OFFENDER ORIENTATION HANDBOOK ACKNOWLEDGMENT 

 

I have received a copy of the New Mexico Corrections Department, Probation Parole Division Offender 

Orientation Handbook which includes information on my civil rights, the Department’s Code of Ethics, the 

offender grievance procedure, sex offender registration, fee and restitution collection procedures, office and 

field visits, how to contact my Probation Parole Officer in an emergency, drug testing and other information 

regarding the Probation/Parole process. By signing below, I acknowledge that I have read and understand the 

Offender Orientation Handbook, and that the Handbook was explained and discussed with me during my initial 

interview with my supervising officer.  

 

 

________________________________________     ___________ 

Probationer/Parolee          Date  

 

 

________________________________________     ___________ 

Witness           Date  

 

 

PAYMENT RESPONSIBILITY ACKNOWLEDGEMENT 

 

By signing below I acknowledge that I understand the following responsibilities and procedures:  

 

As outlined in my probation/parole conditions I am required to make various payments. I will mail all payments 

to:  

New Mexico Corrections Department 

Probation & Parole Division 

PO Box 27116 

Santa Fe, NM 87502-0116 

 

 

I understand I must send MONEY ORDERS OR CASHIERS CHECKS ONLY; no cash or personal checks.  

 

I understand it is my responsibility to fill out my money orders/cashier checks completely and correctly.  

 

I understand it is my responsibility to obtain a remittance slip and mailing envelope from my probation office 

each month in order to make these payments. DO NOT SEND IN PAYMENT WITHOUT REMITTANCE 

SLIP. I understand that I must put postage on the mailing envelope.  

 

 

_____________________________________    ____________ 

Probationer/Parolee         Date  

 

 

____________________________________    ____________ 

Witness          Date  

 


